New Forest
 - Explorers
     Guide
New Forest
Explorers Guide
New Forest sunset
Pony near Hampton Ridge
For comprehensive information about the New Forest National Park
For comprehensive information about the New Forest National Park
MENU

New Forest news

Welcome to the New Forest news page. Links are provided here to recent news items from the local press, the national press and other organisations.

Wednesday, 21st August
Tuesday, 20th August
Friday, 16th August
Thursday, 15th August
Wednesday, 14th August
Tuesday, 13th August
Sunday, 11th August
Saturday, 10th August
Friday, 9th August
Thursday, 8th August
Tuesday, 6th August
Monday, 5th August
Thursday, 1st August
Wednesday, 31st July
Tuesday, 30th July
Monday, 29th July
Sunday, 28th July
Saturday, 27th July
Quick links


 Search this site


** New Forest ponies **
New Forest ponies in the road
Ponies, cattle, pigs, sheep and donkeys are a popular part of the New Forest scene, but during the first six months of 2018, 36 animals were killed or injured on Forest roads, compared with 26 in the same period in 2017, a shocking rise of 38%. And in the full year, 63 animals were killed on the roads compared to 56 in 2017.
** Always take care when driving **
Content produced by Andrew Walmsley
Content produced by Andrew Walmsley