New Forest
 - Explorers
     Guide
New Forest
Explorers Guide
New Forest sunset
Pony near Hampton Ridge
For comprehensive information about the New Forest National Park
For comprehensive information about the New Forest National Park
MENU

New Forest news

Welcome to the New Forest news page. Links are provided here to recent news items from the local press, the national press and other organisations.

Friday, 17th January
Thursday, 16th January
Wednesday, 15th January
Tuesday, 14th January
Monday, 13th January
Sunday, 12th January
Saturday, 11th January
Friday, 10th January
Thursday, 9th January
Tuesday, 7th January
Monday, 6th January
Sunday, 5th January
Saturday, 4th January
Friday, 3rd January
Wednesday, 1st January
Quick links


 Search this site


** New Forest ponies and other animals**
New Forest ponies in the road
Commoners' ponies, cattle, pigs, sheep and donkeys are a popular part of the New Forest scene, but during 2019 agisters attended 159 road traffic accidents involving these animals, a disappointing increase on the 154 accidents attended in 2018.

Outrageously, 58 animals were killed - 35 ponies, 13 cattle, 8 donkeys and 2 sheep, whilst a further 32 were injured - 3 pigs, 9 donkeys, 11 cows and 9 ponies.
** Always take care when driving **
Content produced by Andrew Walmsley
Content produced by Andrew Walmsley