New Forest
 - Explorers
     Guide
New Forest
Explorers Guide
New Forest sunset
Pony near Hampton Ridge
For comprehensive information about the New Forest National Park
For comprehensive information about the New Forest National Park
MENU
***** Coronavirus - for information about New Forest access restrictions and related matters, check out the Forestry England website. *****

New Forest News

Welcome to the New Forest News page. Links are provided here to recent news items from the local press.

Thursday, 13th May April
Wednesday, 12th May April
Tuesday, 11th May April
Monday, 10th May April
Sunday, 9th May April
Saturday, 8th May April
Friday, 7th May April
Thursday, 6th May April
Wednesday, 5th May April
Tuesday, 4th May April
Monday, 3rd May April
Sunday, 2nd May April
Friday, 30th April
Thursday, 29th April
Quick links


 Search this site


** New Forest ponies and other animals**
The New Forest
Commoners' ponies, cattle, pigs, sheep and donkeys are a popular part of the New Forest scene, but during 2019 agisters attended 159 road traffic accidents involving these animals, a small but disappointing increase on the 154 accidents attended in 2018.

Sadly, 58 animals were killed - 35 ponies, 13 cows, 8 donkeys and 2 sheep, whilst a further 32 were injured - 3 pigs, 9 donkeys, 11 cows and 9 ponies.

(Forty-three accidents occurred in daylight, 15 at twilight and 101 in the dark. Twenty-seven accidents were not reported by the driver involved).

Here's just one horrific example - Three donkeys killed in collision with van at notorious New Forest blackspot (Advertiser and Times)
** Always take care when driving **
Content produced by Andrew Walmsley
Content produced by Andrew Walmsley